Default view settings in Adobe Reader

I’m running Adobe Reader 8 for Windows, and it’s slowly (I mean over the last year or so) dawned on me that every time I open a document it’s showing it to me at 112% zoom level in “jerky pagedown mode” (the non-continuous mode where if you’re near the bottom of the page but not yet exactly to it, pressing PageDown only scrolls a little way until you are exactly at the bottom; but if you’re already at the bottom of a page, PageDown goes completely to the next page).  I find it jarring that PageDown goes down different amounts depending on where you are on a page when you press it — I almost always want the “continuous” layout where PageDown always goes down one screenful.

Today I opened up a PDF document and once again found myself at 112% zoom level in non-continuous layout.  This time I decided to see if there is a default setting I could change.  And I found one!

I went to Edit -> Preferences… and chose the Page Display category.  In the Default Layout and Zoom area, I saw:

Old Settings
Page Layout Single Page
Zoom Fit Width

I changed these settings as follows:

New Settings
Page Layout Single Page Continuous
Zoom 100%

Clicking a link to a PDF, now it opens at 100% zoom in continuous display format. Ahhh!

  1. #1 by Sheila on March 10, 2009 - 4:45 pm

    Great advice! I too had the same issue and came online looking for the solution, which you provided.

    Thank you!

  2. #2 by David on April 2, 2009 - 4:37 am

    Adobe Reader 8.1.3 doesn’t honor that option on any of my systems. It always loads pdfs in “Single Page” mode even though I have the default page layout set to “Single Page Continuous”

    Maybe they just broke it in 8.1.x. I wouldn’t put it past them. Version 5 and earlier were definitely their best releases.

  3. #3 by Joby on March 26, 2010 - 2:49 am

    Thanks Daniel… This information was quite helpful…

  4. #4 by Kiel on April 22, 2010 - 10:59 am

    yes but when I click the bookmarks, the default view no longer applies.

  5. #5 by Kiel on April 24, 2010 - 7:31 am

    Nevermind, default view worked with bookmarks well after restarting. :)

  6. #6 by bdgmero@yahoo.com on March 5, 2012 - 4:17 pm

    Thank you, thank you. On and off over the course of several months I ran into this problem and tried (in vain) to find this solution – never did until now. Nice work.

  7. #7 by Joe on April 18, 2012 - 2:30 pm

    Thank you! I knew it would be something simple. I love that it opens now to 2-Up. This was driving me nuts

  8. #8 by rax on May 17, 2012 - 6:27 am

    I have a problem with my laptop. i gave it to someone and once on returning it , all programmes started reading pdf. once i unstall the programme, all other programmes returns normal. what should i do so my laptop operates with adobe reader installed.

  9. #9 by Samir on April 13, 2014 - 3:52 pm

    So now that I’ve got the default view where I want it, how do I get the default tool to be the marqee zoom? The select drives me nuts…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.