ShellNew: Getting rid of those extra file types

The only things I use Windows XP’s “New…” context menu to create are folders, shortcuts, and text files, but there were a bunch of other things on that menu that I had to mentally weed through each time: Wave File, Excel Spreadsheet, PowerPoint presentation…

I found instructions on how to add and delete entries from the New… menu*, and now my context menu looks like this:

Woohoo!

*In case that link dies, the gist of the manual approach is, search through the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT hive looking for ShellNew registry keys and deleting the ones for the associations you don’t want.

  1. #1 by Jonathan Branam on June 27, 2008 - 3:39 pm

    That’s beautiful. I guess you can’t get rid of Shortcut? Or do you actually use that, too?

    I use Folder and Text Document exclusively.

  2. #2 by danielmeyer on June 30, 2008 - 7:19 am

    Hmm, I tried deleting the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.lnk\ShellNew key, but even after rebooting I still could see Shortcut on the list of available things to create.

Leave a Reply

