MagicDraw: Run it on your primary monitor

In MagicDraw (version 15.5) I was trying to link from methods in my class to the sequence diagrams for those methods, which works ok the first time, but when I try to link a second method to its sequence diagram, this time MagicDraw just seems to sit there after I press the Edit button:

At this point, MagicDraw is not responsive (I waited several minutes once) until I press the Escape key — that seems to cancel the operation so I can do other things.

I can work around this by commiting any changes I have made, exiting MagicDraw and coming back in, so that’s what I had been doing…  but with three more links to do, I was interested in a better solution.

I also upped the memory available to MagicDraw to 900M in my mduml.properties file:

JAVA_ARGS=-Xmx900M -Xms900M -XX\:PermSize\=40M -XX\:MaxPermSize\=150M -Duser.language\=en -DLOCALCONFIG\=true  -Dsun.java2d.noddraw

That didn’t seem to make a difference, though.

Then a co-worker nailed the reason: apparently MagicDraw (we’re on 15.5 at the moment) can ‘lose’ your popup dialog window when are running MagicDraw on the secondary monitor.  As I told him:

Thank you!

I was running it on my secondary monitor.

Put it on my primary monitor.

Now it works.

Will try to remember to put time in the task estimate for this type of thing, next time.  ;)

Thanks again!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

