Amazinger and amazinger

I keep having pleasant surprises at new ways the Eclipse IDE can help my productivity.  I wrote about Quick Fixes before; here’s today’s:

Did you know that you can type just the capital letters of a class, and then when you hit Ctrl+Space, Content Assist shows what names have those capitals?

For instance, suppose I want to add a Spring DefaultMessageListenerContainer reference to my class (admittedly odd, but it’s a big long name I don’t want to have to type):

  1. I type DMLC, …
    eclipse-caps-content-assist-1
  2. …hit Ctrl+Space…
    eclipse-caps-content-assist-2
  3. …and Enter…
    eclipse-caps-content-assist-3
  4. “DefaultMessageListener” appears, and I go on to type a field name:
    eclipse-caps-content-assist-4

(The title references Alice…)

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

