Ultimate power!

I use Eclipse’s External Tools feature to run a lot of Maven goals: clean install, eclipse:clean eclipse:eclipse, etc.  I have an external tool configuration set up for each of these common commands.

Sometimes, though, I want to try out a goal I don’t as often use.  Maven dependency:tree and dependency:list I use almost enough to have a special external tool configuration for each… but from time to time I find out about other Maven plugins that I want to try out but would rather not have to clutter up the external tools list with special entries for each one.

As an alternative, sometimes I try out these goals from the Windows command prompt, but it’s a pain to navigate to my project’s working directory each time before executing the command.  I probably experiment less with such commands than I would otherwise because of the effort to prepare to run them — I just get by without their output, without really thinking about it.

Yesterday, though, Keith was helping me get set up to do JBoss remote debugging in Eclipse (a whole ‘nother topic), and in the process of setting it up, one of us wondered if you could set up an external tool that just dropped you to a Windows command prompt so you could type whatever command you want.

You can!  Here’s my configuration, which I call Ultimate Power:

ultimate-power-eclipse-external-tool-configuration

When I run this, it puts a Windows command prompt sitting in my project directory in a Console window, and now I can type my command:

ultimate-power-in-action

Coo-hoo-hool!

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

