Sometimes there’s an easier way

I was working to get snapshots of the Hibernate AnnotationConfiguration properties in effect when Hibernate local transactions are in use versus when a JTA transaction manager is in use, and halfway through I found there was a much easier way to capture my data.

What I did First

  1. While a debugging session was stopped at a breakpoint at line 732 of org.springframework.orm.hibernate3.LocalSessionFactoryBean (In buildSessionFactory() where the AnnotationConfiguration is done being built), I went to the Expressions view and selected the AnnotationConfiguration named “config”;
  2. Opened config’s properties field and manually expanded all 116 nodes, exposing their key/value pairs;
  3. Selected the 116 nodes-with-key/value-pairs and chose Copy Expressions from the context menu;
  4. Pasted into Notepad and manually removed the “[0…99]” and “[100…116]” lines;
  5. Saved the modified file as hibernate-annotation-config-jta.txt
  6. Ran the following commands:
    egrep --invert-match "\[" hibernate-annotation-config-jta.txt > keys-values.txt
    egrep key= keys-values.txt | sed 's/[ \t]*key= \"\(.*\)\".*$/\1/' > keys.txt
    egrep value= keys-values.txt | sed 's/[ \t]*value= \"\(.*\)\".*$/\1/' > values.txt
    paste --delimiter== keys.txt values.txt > keys-values-jta.txt
    

This worked — it got all 116 entries into key=value format, one key/value pair per line — and I prepared to do it again while running my test in Hibernate mode.

Then I noticed…

Then I saw another pane in the Expressions view I hadn’t really noticed before, on the right hand side.  When I clicked on one of the AnnotationConfig’s properties in the Expressions window (even without expanding that entry to show the key and value), I saw the entry in key=value format over in that right hand pane.  And… if I selected all 116 nodes in the left pane of the Expressions view, all 116 key=value pairs showed up in the right pane, ready for me to select and copy!

My new workflow, then, is:

  1. While a debugging session is stopped at a breakpoint at line 732 of org.springframework.orm.hibernate3.LocalSessionFactoryBean (In buildSessionFactory() where the AnnotationConfiguration is done being built), go to the Expressions view, select the AnnotationConfiguration named “config”, and within that select the properties field;
  2. Make sure the “Show Logical Structure” button is pressed;
  3. Expand the properties field so that you can see the individual [0], [1] [2]… entries
  4. Select all these entries:
    eclipse-expressions-view-goodness
  5. In the Expressions view’s right hand pane, Select All and copy.

Those are nicer steps than what I did first!  Eclipse comes through again!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Henryk Konsek on December 4, 2008 - 3:45 am

    And I was always wondering what is this mythical Logical Structure :) Cool feature :) Since now debugging LinkedLists won’t be a nightmare anymore :)

    I would be grateful for any similar tips :)

    Best regards.

Leave a Reply

