Eclipse tabbing sand trap fixed

Background

I loved using Eclipse when I was on a Java project.  I could do things so quickly with all the keyboard shortcuts.  Wow!

It was probably because of how powerful the editor is in so many ways that I found a particular scenario so annoying.  Normally, I switch between Eclipse windows (“editors” in Eclipse parlance) using Ctrl+PgUp and Ctrl+PgDn.  But when among the files you’re editing is any .xml file (common if you’re using Spring!), the XML editor gives you Design and Source sub-tabs:eclipse-evil-subtabs

Now when you are happily Ctrl+PgUp-ing along and get to this editor, Ctrl+PgUp switches you back and forth between the Design and Source sub-tabs instead of to the next editor.  You’re stuck in the Eclipse tabbing sand trap!

The XML editor does not support turning off the sub-tabs, or I probably would do that.  You can use Ctrl+F6 and Ctrl+Shift+F6 instead of Ctrl+PgUp and Ctrl+PgDn, but they pop a little selection box and take effect when you release the keys rather than when you press them.  These two aspects, plus F6 being harder for me to find, make that workaround unappealing.  It’s enough more complicated  to slow me down and make me have to think about what I’m doing.

News

So… I was glad to see today that Kevin McGuire just committed a fix for this.  It’s targeted for 3.5 M7 , which looks like it should be available within the next month or so if the project’s recent milestone pace continues.

Thanks, Kevin!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

