Calvin on software

Institutes of the Christian Religion, John Calvin’s master work, is arranged in four volumes.  Book I is titled “Of the Knowledge of God the Creator” and deals with the natural created order and God’s providence; Book II is “Of the Knowledge of God the Redeemer” and deals with salvation and redemption…

I’d been working my way through Book I recently — the teaching about providence has been such an encouragement to me with what’s been going on lately!   I generally take a low view of playing games with a text and taking things out of context…but as a programmer I did do a double-take when I saw Calvin speaking of classes and objects:

…there being as many miracles of divine power, as many striking evidences of wisdom and goodness, as there are classes of objects, nay, as there are individual objects, great or small throughout the universe.  (Book I c. XIV s. 21)

: )


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s